Moy Park Chicken.

I was contacted at the end of last year to do some product shots of breaded chicken for one of Europe’s largest chicken producers. They needed some photos of breaded goujons and breaded escalopes for product packaging. Food photography isn’t as easy as it usually seems, and I needed to keep the lighting for these photos as similar to the photos taken of other products in the range. As I didn’t take the other photos I had to look at them and try to figure out how they were lit. Once I had an idea I set up a couple of Bowens studio flash heads and put the 105mm lens on the D700. Sometimes food needs to be photographed quickly because it’ll dry out quickly, fall over, melt, lose its shape e.t.c. Breaded chicken and chips isn’t too bad, but still, I didn’t want it to be sat there going cold for half an hour before I got a shot of it. So while it was being prepared I found a banana and some biscuits to set on the plate to do a test shot. It didn’t really matter what I used, the biscuits and banana were handy and about the right size. With these in place I was able to adjust the lighting and the positioning of the camera to something that was roughly right. Then once the chicken and the chips were ready to be placed in front of the camera it only took 10mins to arrange them and get a good photo of them.

Leave a Reply

