Moy Park Chicken revisited.

You may remember a a few weeks ago I made a post about photographing chicken goujons for Moy Park chicken. If you haven’t read it it’s here

The photos from the previous post were going to be used on the newly designed packaging for Moy Park chicken. I was asked recently to photograph the new range of products. This was to be a mix of single product shots and group shots. This was also my first chance to see my photographs on printed packaging artwork. I’d seen the artwork before on the computer but it looked good on the packaging.

The brief for these photographs was that the range needed to be photographed at a slight angle with good views of the top of the product and the side. It also had to be on a pure white background. The basic packaging is a green plastic box with a clear plastic film and then a cardboard sleeve over the box. Due to the fact the product is very visible in the box I had to minimise reflections on the clear plastic top as much as possible. If you’ve ever tried photographing anything reflective before you’ll know reducing or even removing reflections is tricky at the best of times. Below is an example of a typical product, chicken kievs.

The first thing I had to do before I photographed anything was to clean the products. Everything arrived chilled in big polystyrene cool-boxes but once it’s lifted out of the cool-box it starts to warm up and with everything coming off the production line all the products were sealed. This combined with the change of temperature of the food causes condensation to build on the inside of the clear film top. It isn’t possible to take the clear film off the top of the product so I had to cut small holes in the bottom of everything to allow the air to flow inside and reduce the condensation.

With so many different products to photograph I decided keep things as methodical as possible. I set up the lighting for the first single product and once I was happy the lighting was fine I marked the position of the product with some card strips, and lifted each item out and placed the next item in. I found the condensation to be a real problem with photographing these. I often had to cut little circles in the clear film top and slide kitchen roll in to remove moisture that had built up inside. I also found that some products, such as the kievs were difficult to see in the photos due to the label being in the way. I had to cut little holes in the back of the packaging and prop up the kievs with folded up pieces of kitchen roll just to make them appear more visible. Having worked in a commercial photography studio for two years you would be surprised the number of little tricks used to when photographing food and products.

The second and third photos are the ones I photographed a few weeks previous. The photos on the labels are my photos, I think they look pretty good, let me know what you think. Mike.

Leave a Reply

